User Management

Avatar
Alica Kačengová

Collaboration is one of the Lumeer’s most important features. You can add other users to your organizations and projects and decide what they are allowed to see, change or add. See how user management works in Lumeer.

Managing Users in an Organization

To enter the user management screen, click on the organization code and select Configure.

access user settings

On the Users tab, you can see the list of the existing users and a field for inviting new users.

user management

When you add a user to the organization, it is automatically added to all its projects. The automatically assigned user role in the project depends on the role in the organization – for more info, scroll below to the User roles section.

To remove the user from the organization (and all its projects), click on the red bin icon.

user record

Managing users in a project

Managing users on a project level is very similar to organization level: Click on the project code and select Configure.

access settings

The list of existing users appears. There is no option to invite new users – that can be done only on organization level.

user management

All users from the organization are listed in the project, but if they are not assigned any role, they don’t have access to the project.

User Management in a Table

To enter table settings, click on the gear icon next to the table icon:

table settings

And switch to the Users tab:

list of users

User Roles

There are 3 basic roles in Lumeer which can be used in user management to give you a good control of the access rights:

  • Read – Reader
  • Write – Author
  • Manage – Creator

You can choose the role for every user by clicking on the permissions icons.

user management add user

See the table below for detailed information on user roles:

User roleOrganization levelProject levelTable level
CreatorCan do everything in the organization (create projects, invite users, change permissions, work with the data etc.).
Has a Creator role in all organization’s projects.
Can do everything in the project (create tables, add views, change permissions, work with the data etc.).Can do everything in the table (add, update or delete rows; add or remove columns; create views etc.).
AuthorCan create projects and has a Writer role in all of them.
To access other projects, they must be assigned a role in those projects by their Creators.
Can create tables, views etc. in the project and manage (edit, delete) them.
Can work with the data in tables not created by them.
Can add, update or remove rows.
ReaderCan be assigned a Reader role in organization’s projects.Can view the data in those views that were shared with them.Can view all the data in the table.